Week 4 – Part 2: News Gathering

The second part of this week’s seminar was focusing on gathering content to upload onto our portfolios.

Having worked for several publications, I’m fortunate in that I have a varied portfolio, from writing for Digital Spy to interviewing guests at the O2 Media Awards.

One thing I will have to spend time thinking about, which I have also mentioned on my Trello list, is how to collate over online 170 articles in a way that is easily navigable and presentable.

I also have video footage from when I interviewed guests at the O2 Media Awards. This was uploaded onto YouTube and embedded onto the O2 website, so putting this video onto my own portfolio should be fairly straight-forward.

I will also be uploading copies of the business magazine from Newsdays 1 as it shows another side of my writing in business journalism. For this, I’ve started scanning in the work and saving it on my computers.

One other skill I’d like to showcase on the portfolio is my work on InDesign. For my Magazine Project, I created a magazine called Hitch&Pitch which was very technical in term’s of the design work, so it’s a good opportunity to show it off. I also helped design the aforementioned business magazine, so I can also incorporate that work into the same section.

Leave a comment